Brandon Phil, Fourth Grade Winter-Summer
Brandon Phil, Fourth Grade Winter-Summer
2004-05-09
One time, (this one really can't wait until tomorrow) I got into a fist fight.

This is one of the clearest memories I can remember. I was a...fourth grader, yeah, and it was winter. It was also a snow day, and I was spending the day with Phillip Cl. We decided to go down to the Hadley School playground to play on the big snow mound that the snowplows had made clearing out the parking lot.

There, I met my "opponent." I didn't know his name at the time, but I found out later that it was Brandon Phil, a fifth grader.

We were in the play ground, by the swings where the pile of snow was. King of the mountain was the game, and I really had no chance of winning. I think it was me, Phil, and this Brandon kid.

My main goal was to defend Phil and get him to the top, so when he finally got there, and pushed Brandon to the bottom, I took action.

Brandon slid down the mound and into the wooden swingset post, hitting it with his back. Before he could recover, I hit him with a bigass snowball. This was one of those bigass, two arm snowballs, like a snow block.

Now, you may say, "You started it, you heaved this snowball at him." But it was winter! You throw snowballs in winter, that's how it works. I don't know, maybe the snow got into his jacket or something. I don't recall it being an iceball, either.

So he got up (this part was in slow motion) and started walking towards me, and he hit me. He just punched me in the face.

I recovered fast and we wrestled around, punching eachother, and the clearest detail of the fight that I remember was that at one point we were on the ground, me punching him in the face yelling "you asshole! you asshole!"

I don't like it.

Someone broke up the fight, it might have been Nick S, but I don't remember if he was there or not. I just remember crying as Brandon walked away down the street. Phil told me later that I cut the kid's ear (what the fuck does that mean?) and gave him a bloody nose.

It's not like I came out unscathed, though. My face was sore, and my nose was bleeding. For some reason, Phil decided to stay at the park to keep playing, and I chose to walk back to Phil's house because my dad had to pick me up for basketball. I got to Phil's house and took off the snow pants he had lent me and played Sega Saturn (yeah, i remember how lame the system was, and how lame i am for remembering it).

I remember Phil told me the next day (probably bullshit) that when he was walking home later he saw some blood in the snow and knew that I had been there.

There are a couple follow ups to this one, one of them being the next Monday, when we were lining up after recess and the fifth graders were just starting theirs. Brandon was playing off the wall, and Phil and Andrey stood by me as the kid gave me glares. Andrey yelled "He kicked your ass and you know it!"

Then that summer I was at the Hadley basketball courts with Danny, and Brandon Phil was playing ball there. I told Danny about the whole thing, and for some reason I thought I should confront him again. I really didn't want to fight, and Danny went to go draw Brandon to where I was, but he took no interest in me.

No fights since, though. That's good.

<<<<<<< | >>>>>>>