Power Outage, Summer 2001
Power Outage, Summer 2001
2004-05-12
(Well, just for variety, I guess...)

Today's power outage at school made me remember a good time.

It was summer 2001, and I had just gotten Take Off Your Pants and Jacket. I was home with my mom and my brother, one evening, and the power went out. The sun was going down, so my mom suggested going out to get food. We drove around Swampscott at dusk, with no traffic lights working at all.

I don't know if my mind is just telling me something I want it to tell me, in place of what really happened, but I remember Swampscott being a ghost town.

(Yeah, my mind is probably lying to me.)

We got home and ate dinner in the dark, and me, my mom, and Danny all crashed on the dining room couch. My mom was in the middle and Danny and I were on each side of her.

It was nice moment, and even if I was 13 years old it was nice being so close to my mom again. And for some reason I started singing "Stay Together for the Kids."

It sounds lame, I guess, but you had to be there. Otherwise, you wouldn't really know why I felt compelled to sing.

But I forgot the words at one point! How bad does that suck?



<<<<<<< | >>>>>>>