Transformers, Kindergarden to Seventh Grade
Transformers, Kindergarden to Seventh Grade
2004-05-13
Oh man, you're really going to hate this one.

Transformers were (are) the greatest thing ever. I started playing with them in kindergarden, and stopped around 7th grade.

Dan Forward was probably the reason I got into them, because his brother was an 80s kid, and he had all of the toys.

I remember my grandfather got me Optimus Prime for Christmas in first grade, and I was really happy. I moved on to other transformers, specifically Beast Wars, which was the greatest thing I can remember.

The real story about Transformers that I remember was the day we stopped playing. My brother and I hadn't played with our transformers for a little while, and we decided to bust them out again and make some amazing storyline that no other 11 and 12 year olds could ever come up with. I mean, we thought of these stories starting when we were 5 and 6. No one can ever understand the profoundness of our imaginations when it came to playing together.

Anyway, I remember that me and my brother were in the middle of my living room (before it became destroyed), and Danny had his favorite character, Cheetor, and I had mine, Optimus Primal. We were in the process of creating a storyline, of which my dialogue consisted of "let's go on patrol!"

(stop mocking me.)

Danny just kind of looked at me (something we never did when playing transformers, because WE were the toys) and said, "uhh...okay."

And I kind of stopped playing, came out of my fantasy world and said, "This isn't really working, is it?" like the end of a bad relationship, or something.

I don't even think Danny replied, it was just kind of a silent acknowledgement that we had grown up. And that was the last time I played Transformers with my brother.

<<<<<<< | >>>>>>>