The Spirit of Boston, 8th Grade
The Spirit of Boston, 8th Grade
2004-05-14
This one's not especially happy, or especially relevant.

It was the end of eigth grade, and we were going on our class trip. It was a day cruise on that Spirit of Boston boat...fucking awesome...virgin strawberry daquiris, corn dogs...definitely a classy place.

Anyway, before we got on the boat, you get your picture taken. I realized this while I was relatively pretty far back on the boarding line, and also realized that I had no friends.

I was next to Artem, who was my friend at the time. But he was with his girlfriend Alex, and I figured they would get their picture taken.

Obviously, I couldn't get my picture taken alone, so I reluctantly got my picture taken with Artem and Alex...kind of off to the side of them. I don't remember it being a bad picture, but later on I mumbled something like "you can just crop me out of that thing" later.

Good times...eigth grade.

But not to end on an entirely pathetic note, that trip was where I did the blind rave dancer thing...I'll explain.

Out near the bow of the boat with my "friends" (Jake Alphabet, Artem, Sweeny, Veronica...okay maybe they didn't like me at all), I made an attempt to make fun of the people dancing inside:

"Why do all those girls dancing move back and forth covering their eyes? It's like they're freaking out because they're blind..."

And thus I started to imitate them, placing my hands on my forehead, covering my eyes, and proceeding to move as if having a seizure.

I uncovered my eyes and turned around and my Principal (a pretty likeable guy) was just shaking his head and said "you're sick," and he walked away.

Yeah...so...anybody want to dance with me?



<<<<<<< | >>>>>>>