Exclamatory Sentences, Sixth Grade
Exclamatory Sentences, Sixth Grade
2004-10-29
So, I was in sixth grade, in Ms. Rosenstein's class. She taught "Language Arts" class, which is fancy speak for "English."


We were just reviewing basic grammar rules and everything. Ms. Rosenstein was reading random questions off in a team based game.


When it was my turn I was asked to name all of the types of sentences.


"Delcarative...interrogative...imperative...and..."


And I couldn't remember "exclamatory." So I just thought for a few seconds, while Sam Spano and Matt Kane on the other team kept saying, "Oh my God!" "That's so easy!" "I can't believe this!"


So Ms. Rosenstein tries to save me and draws an exclamation point on the board, but all I can think about is the kids at the other table. As soon as she draws the exclamation point Matt and Sam started complaining even more, saying "Why don't you just give it to him!" "God!"


I can't really concentrate on anything but what they're saying, so I start to tear up and I kept my mouth shut. Ms. Rosenstein said "Do you know it?"


And I said, "No, they don't want me to answer it right." And I skipped my turn to answer.


So I go back to my team to sit down and at this point I'm just a little kid crying, and I remember Stephanie G saying "Mike, why are you crying?" and the other kids in my team doing the same thing. But it was the kind of sympathy that elementary school kids give each other because they think the grown-ups will pat them on the back for it.


So I just kind of calmed down and at the end of class Ms. Rosenstein asked me what was wrong, and I told her that I had a lot of stress: My parents were "splitting up," I had my black belt test that night...you know, I'm pretty sure that was the worst thing in the world...


Ah...middle school...kiss my ass.

<<<<<<< | >>>>>>>