Dominique and Batman, First Grade
Dominique and Batman, First Grade
2005-01-29
So I'm in first grade, and I have this "girlfriend." Her name was Dominique. She was English (from the UK), and she moved away in second grade. I saw her again when I was in sixth grade, but I was a fat mess then so she just laughed at me. That's not the point of the story, though.


The story was at a Christmas party at my house. My mom says, "Michalnicolas! Dominique is coming!"


I reply with great enthusiasm, "YES! MY GIRLFRIEND IS COMING OVER!"


So of course when all the adults get to my house she tells them what I said. I ran to go hide in my room. Eventually Dominique came to get me.


I was one of those annoying kids that was obsessed with Batman, and I usually tried to persuade all of my friends to play it. Since Dominique was a girl, she clearly had to be Catwoman.


We made masks, which consisted of those masks that cover people's eyes only, plus some construction paper for ears.


What's even worse was the fact that we put on one of those "shows" for the adults. I was Batman, my brother was Robin, and Dominique was Catwoman.


I had this "move" when I played Batman, where I'd run at a staircase, put my hands on a stair and kick my legs up (I was a karate-master). Being the self obsessed five year old that I was, I did not realize that Dominique would follow me wherever I ran.


So I'm running at the stairs to do my move, I lift my legs up and kick, and I make contact with Dominique's face. She goes down crying, I have no idea what's going on...and it kind of just went downhill from there. All of the parents just went "Oooh!" and probably laughed about it.


Dominique went home with her parents. Maybe that's why she didn't talk to me in sixth grade.

<<<<<<< | >>>>>>>