Ana Sleeps Over, Kindergarden
Ana Sleeps Over, Kindergarden
2008-02-01
Ana was one of my first babysitters. She had dark skin and dark eyes, wide lips and long brown hair. She was tall and thin, and I wouldn't have noticed it as a five year old, but she was beautiful.

My mother worked late nights, until midnight usually. Our babysitters, Ana included, were always high school students. It must have been weird, staying out until midnight 5 nights a week, babysitting. It was good time to do homework, I guess.

I woke up one morning to get ready for school and sat down in the living room to play for a little bit. I heard a door open, and saw Ana walking down our hallway, from the guest room. She pushed her hair out of her eyes and I felt this surge of happiness at seeing her. So unexpected, I guess. My mother must have worked later than normal.

I wonder if it was weird for Ana, sleeping over and waking up somewhere else to get ready for school. I also wonder where my father was that night.
Update: I asked my mom about her:

"Ana was great. She was from Spain. She was beautiful. Student at Marian Court by way of being an au pair. Eventually, she didn't want to work for the fancy family she was living with/working for in Swampscott. I think she may have stayed over in between moving from there and finding her own place. I don't really remember her staying overnight, but she could've. Her best friend was Margarita, also from Spain, also beautiful. She brought over a real cucaracha bug she had as a pet....gross! Funny you're thinking of that now."

<<<<<<< | >>>>>>>