First Day of Gym, September 2001
First Day of Gym, September 2001
2008-07-26
My first gym class at an all boys high school took place outside on a basketball court. None of the twenty or so 14-year-olds knew each other and we were supposed to pick teams based on looks alone. No one had the reputation of 'jock' yet, so any one of us could be the best player to pick.

One guy, who called himself 'Poop', was trying to explain how he didn't know anyone, so he couldn't be team captain to pick. Our teacher, Mr. B, said, 'It doesn't matter, all of these guys will be your friends. In four years you'll all be close and know each other.'

I remember his voice saying that, just an audio sample to go along with the hot basketball court and a vague recollection of me making a basket and being surprised at myself. It obviously meant something to me at the time.

I now speak to one person from my graduating high school class of 153 students.

<<<<<<< | >>>>>>>