Intro to Fiction Writing, April 2007
Intro to Fiction Writing, April 2007
2009-08-01
When I was in Amy Hmpel's writing class, she seemed to favor me above the other twenty kids in the room. My writing wasn't any better than anyone else's there, I think she just saw me as an icebreaker, only because I volunteered to read one story that I felt particularly comfortable with.

Other students noticed this, and we all made it an inside joke. She called on me first so often that it eventually came to the point where I'd just start laughing when she did it, along with a few choice classmates. The last time she did it, I couldn't contain myself, and "Did I even raise my hand?" came out meaner than I intended. Others thought it was funny, but I can't shake how rude it was in retrospect. Amy was unfazed, and I most likely did what she asked anyway.



<<<<<<< | >>>>>>>