K sings to me, 2009?
K sings to me, 2009?
2012-07-15
At the risk of evoking a melodramatic Bright Eyes song, because I feel like this really had nothing to do with her song choice:

I was having a bad day. Something unusually stressful, maybe I was down on my future. I might have been sick with something more severe than usual. I feel like I was in my old house, with my head lying on the countertop, phone to my left ear, speaking to K.

I got to a bad point, and I know it was bad because I told her it was bad. She said something like 'I wish I could do something for you,' and I said, 'Sing me a song,' because it was something she never did. She stopped singing when we started dating, after she asked what my #1 pet peeve was, and I told her people with bad voices singing along to music.

She must have protested at first, but I groaned pathetically or said 'Please, just sing. Please.' She started singing 'You Are My Sunshine' in the sweetest voice I've heard from her mouth, the voice I remember when I want to miss her fondly. It wasn't a good singing voice, but it was what I wanted, exactly what I wanted, and I thanked her after she finished and I felt better. I really did feel better in my head and she was so good then.


<<<<<<< | >>>>>>>